Cookies on the Muslim Aid Website


We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the yourname website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

What we do

Zakat Exemptions and Eligibility Criteria

Paying Zakat is an important responsibility; an act ordained by Allah (SWT). It is the task of giving away a portion of one’s wealth to purify one’s soul and all belongings with it. Zakat is required of all those Muslims who meet or exceed the Nisaab value of 87.48 grams of gold or 612.36 grams of silver.However, there are also Zakat exemptions to the eligibility criteria. People who fall under it are not required to pay Zakat. There are also exemptions on what classifies as a Zakatable item. These exemptions are mentioned below:

Zakat Eligibility Criteria

  • Zakat is applicable only on people of the Islamic Faith.
  • Only sane adults are required to pay Zakat. Children are exempt from it, however according to the Shafi'i, Maliki and Hanbali schools, Zakat must be paid on that wealth owned by children and the insane.
  • Zakat is only paid on wealth that meets the Nisaab values (87.48 grams of gold or 612.36 grams of silver).  If your net savings meet or exceed the Nisaab, you are required to pay 2.5% of it.

Item Exemptions

For the most part, all items acquired with the intention of keeping them rather than selling them are exempt from Zakat. This also includes precious stones and metals with the exemption of gold and silver. If you have any gold or silver jewellery, its worth has to be taken into account when calculating the Zakat amount. Material objects such as furniture, cars and accessories are exempt from Zakat calculations.

If you wish to calculate your Zakat, be sure to try Muslim Aid’s Zakat Calculator. It’s fast and easy to use and most importantly, it can provide you with an accurate Zakat amount.