Today • Islamic Date -

Next Prayer: London -

Recent Donations -

Muslim Aid Media Centre

Qurbani in Islam

Qurbani in Islam

Udhiya entails the story of Prophet Ibrahim and his son, Hazrat Ismail, and their devotion to Allah SWT. One of the most precious and beloved things to Prophet Ibrahim was, in fact, his son, Ismail.

Prophet Ibrahim had a recurring dream that Allah SWT asked of him to sacrifice his son, Ismail. Prophet Ibrahim knew that Allah SWT would not request such a thing from him without good reason. The Prophet set off with Ismail and upon reaching Mount Arafah, he told his son of Allah SWT’s command.

Hazrat Ismail, who was also a very sincere child, agreed but advised his father to blindfold himself while he was carrying out the sacrifice so he would not have to watch Ismail suffer. Prophet Ibrahim tied the blindfold on and carried out his sacrifice for Allah SWT.

Upon removing his blindfold, he looked down and saw in front of him a slaughtered ram, with Ismail standing by his side; which was the moment that Prophet Ibrahim realised he had been given a test from Allah SWT.

The significance of Qurbani is Prophet Ibrahim’s willingness to sacrifice his most precious belonging in his devotion to Allah SWT.

The Concept of Qurbani

Allah SWT liked Prophet Ibrahim’s actions so much that the sacrifice of the animal was made obligatory upon Muslim’s during Hajj.

The notion behind this is simple: if you were to raise and nurture an animal as your pet, that animal would become very dear to you. To then go on and slaughter that beloved pet would be a difficult task, but a sacrifice that is made for Allah’s will.

There are, however, certain factors to bear in mind for eligibility.

To be eligible for Qurbani, one must be an adult Muslim of sound mind, and one who is eligible for paying zakat. An adult family member would normally pay the Qurbani for the remaining members of the family, along with the children in the household, too.

It is imperative to select an animal (sheep, goat, bull, cow, buffalo or camel) that is in good health as there are particular sets of rules to follow based on the health of the animal.

Goats and sheep will count as one Qurbani, whereas a camel or buffalo count as seven shares, due to the sheer size of the animal.

The Qurbani meat should then be separated into three equal portions; one of these portions should be kept for your home, the second be given to friends and family, and the final portion is to be distributed amongst those in need.

The act of Qurbani is carried out between the 10th and 12th of Dhul Hijjah, following on from the pilgrimage of Hajj and Eid-ul-Adha prayers.

Hajj: The Time of Year

Qurbani in Islam

The pilgrimage of Hajj is an obligation placed upon every Muslim, at least once in their lifetime if they are both physically and financially able to do so. There are certain criteria that have to be met for both Qurbani and Hajj eligibility.

Hajj commences on the 8th day of Dhul Hijjah, which is the twelfth month of the Islamic Lunar Calendar, and consists of many rituals, prayers, and sacrifices. Millions of Muslims around the world travel to Mecca to perform this privileged duty in congregation.

The pilgrimage involves encircling the Holy Kaaba a number of times. The Kaaba is a large, black, square building which was built by Prophet Ibrahim and Hazrat Ismail.

Many other rites of Hajj are performed during the pilgrimage, which is observed over the course of approximately six days.

Pilgrims of Hajj are to wear certain attire during the pilgrimage. The dress consists of plain, unstitched white garments for all. This attire is known as Ihram and is to signify equality. It is a reminder that wealth, culture, status, and materialism will not count for anything, and that we are all going to return to the same place, with none of our worldly possessions.

The rewards for Hajj are enormous, including renewal of faith and the promise of Paradise in the Hereafter.

The Obligation

The act of Hajj is the fifth element of the Five Pillars of Islam; also known as the five obligations commanded by Allah SWT upon every Muslim.

The other obligations are:

  • Shahadah – meaning the declaration of one’s true faith and belief in Islam
  • Salah – daily obligatory prayers, five times a day
  • Zakah – the giving of a percentage of one’s profitable wealth to those in need
  • Sawm – Fasting in the Month of Ramadan
  • Hajj – the Holy pilgrimage to Mecca

The Celebration

Hajj concludes with the occasion of Eid-ul-Adha, known as the festival of sacrifice. Muslims around the world celebrate this occasion for approximately three days.

On the morning of this celebration, Eid salaah (Eid prayers) are performed in congregation at the local Mosque. Following the submission of prayers, many visit with their family and friends, exchange congratulations, wear their best clothes, give gifts and enjoy a delicious feast.

It is only following the completion of Eid salaah that the act of Qurbani is carried out, and the distribution of the Qurbani meat is arranged accordingly.

Celebrate Qurbani with Muslim Aid

Many Muslim’s donate their Qurbani to a charity, such as Muslim Aid, in order to carry the Qurbani out on their behalf.

The meat is then separated into three portions; two of which are delivered directly to you, and the third one being distributed amongst those in need.

For further information on the Muslim Aid Qurbani campaign, please browse our website. For further information on the Muslim Aid Qurbani campaign, please browse our website.

Donate with Muslim Aid today.
Call 020 7377 4200 or Donate Now.

We are a faith-based British international charity that provides help to people who are victims of natural disasters or conflict or suffering from poverty, hunger, disease, homelessness, injustice, deprivation or lack of skills and economic opportunities.

020 7377 4200

Ways to Donate


  • Living Wage
  • Zakat Policy
  • Registered with

    Fundraising Regulator

Please support us further

Your donation will provide help to people who are victims of natural disasters or conflict or suffering from poverty, hunger, disease, homelessness, injustice, deprivation or lack of skills and economic opportunities.